And the DWP strikes again…

Oh goody!

Such fun!

The amazingly incompetent DWP strikes again!

Brief bit of background info – I am currently in the process of being transferred from the Disability Living Allowance I have been receiving since 1998 onto the new Personal Independence Payment. Around six weeks ago a kind and long-suffering friend helped me complete the frighteningly lengthy claim form, in excruciating detail, which I then returned, complete with copies of my Social Services and District Nurses Care Plans as evidence that I was not tell lies or over-egging the situation and my needs.

Well, yesterday I received a letter saying they were coming to see me to do a home visit and check that I really am as disabled as I said that I am and that I am really in need the help I say that I do.

Great!

No real problem with a personal visit and assessment except for the fact that it will be a colossal waste of both their, and my time.

First of all the appointment is for 9am-11am. Well, that’s not convenient. My carers come at 9.30am to wake me up, wash me down, attend to all my personal care needs, get me ready for the day and provide me with my breakfast. The assessor will just have to wait in the kitchen whilst I get my full body wash, have my catheter bag emptied and my incontinence pad changed. I’m not having them in my room to watch any of that.    

Secondly, my carers are here for around an hour for my morning visit, and can’t change their times as the have several other clients to see, so the assessor really will have to wait in the kitchen until they have finished everything they have to do.

Thirdly, in order to ensure that the assessors don’t, themselves, lie in their report ,about what they ask me and what I say to them (there are too many reports of this happening with other disabled people for me to take the risk), I will be recording the whole thing. The DWP allow this, if you inform them in advance that this is what will be happening, but it needs to be recorded on a double cassette or CD recorder so that I can keep one one copy and that they can take the other with them. No digital recording on a computer, tablet or laptop, no dictaphones, nothing modern, just an old fashioned cassette or cd recorder. Now, how many people still have one of those?

Not me.

Why am I going to have to go through this indignity yet again anyway? I fully understand the need to ensure that Welfare Benefits are going to the people that are actually entitled to them and need them. But really. Can’t the people at ATOS Healthcare read? I sent copies of my Care Plans for a reason – as proof that I am genuinely disabled. Are my Social Worker and my District Nurses really going to spend time detailing all the help I need if I didn’t actually need it? Is my Local Authority really going to be spending an inordinate amount for carers to come in to do everything for me on a daily basis or no reason? Somehow, I don’t think so.

The pen-pushing jobs-worths in the DWP need to learn to read and start employing some common sense, if, of course, they know what common-sense is. Disabled people, with genuine, documentary evidence of their impairments and the help they need just to exist, should not be hounded, day after day, to prove every little thing, in front of witnesses. It’s not right and it should not be happening. I am an emotionally strong woman but, even I am beginning to feel dispirited and depressed by the constant badgering. For other people all this disbelief and hounding and assessing and justifying themselves can be, and often is, the straw that broke the camel’s back.  

Employ some sense DWP, I beg you. If you ask us to send you medical evidence which proves our claims when we make them, do us the courtesy of actually reading the evidence we send you. You are looking for fraudulent claims so you can stop spending the taxpayer’s money on claims made by people who are not entitled to Welfare Benefits, so stop wasting our money going after people who really should and need to be getting that help and can prove it. What is this country coming to?

As I’ve said before, only this week, would you please just leave me alone. I, and so many other disabled people, have had enough. Learn to read and start checking the evidence you ask us to provide. Doctors and Consultants, social workers, District Nurses, Medical Professionals, don’t write these reports for their own amusement, they write them for a reason. Do them, and us, the courtesy of reading what these reports say and then start going after the reall fraudsters instead of us.

We’ve had enough.    

2 comments
  1. Ali H said:

    I agree but the problem for me is that despite having been in NHS mental healthcare system for over 20 years, my support has last year been completely cut. Now I have NO up to date medical evidence to provide and am totally reliant on whoever ATOS might choose to send to assess me ON THAT DAY, which may or may not be a bad day. I worry that if the assumption that if you can prove disability by virtue of having care then all of us who no longer get any, regardless of need, will be totally victimised be the system. I am NOT mentally strong, the whole system feels like systematic and deliberate genocide to me.

    • The thing that is getting to me at the moment is the amount of having to justify ourselves all the time we’re having to do. I really feel for you and people like you though – I, at least look as disabled am I am becuse I have a physical impairment – I’m stuck in my bed most of the time, have a catheter and a wheelchair and can’t even get up without help and a hoist. God help people like you who don’t have an outward ‘disability badge’… The whole system, and how it works, or rather, how it really doesn’t work now, is a complete and utter scandal….

Leave a Reply

