I am a Benefits Scrounger… I don’t think so….

I am a ‘Benefits Scrounger’.

I don’t work so I must be a ‘Benefits Scrounger’.

I am disabled and I am unable to leave my bed so I must be a ‘Benefits Scrounger’.

I receive Disability Living Allowance and Employment Support Allowance so I must be a ‘Benefits Scrounger’.

I lie around in my bed all day so I must be a ‘Benefits Scrounger’.

I am well educated with a degree and a post-graduate qualification but I don’t go out to work so I must be a ‘Benefits Scrounger’.

I have two children I don’t go out to work to support so I must be a ‘Benefits Scrounger’.

My adult children cannot help support me as one is in receipt of Employment Support Allowance because they are disabled and my other child, whilst she is working, has just finished an apprenticeship and so earns barely enough for herself, let alone supporting me.We live in a three bedroom social housing home paid for by Housing Benefit so we must all be Benefits Scroungers.

I have paid Tax and National Insurance for 30 years but I am now too ill to work so I must be a ‘Benefits Scrounger’.

I am not looking for work because I am too ill and disabled so I must be a ‘Benefit Scrounger’.

I need two strangers to strip me, wash me, dress me, change my nappy as I am doubly incontinent, feed me, clean up after me, do my laundry and do some housework every day but I don’t go out to work to pay for it so I must be a ‘Benefits Scrounger’.

I have nurses coming to my house to treat my open, infected bed-sores every day but I don’t pay for this so I must be a ‘Benefits Scrounger’.

I am allowed to sit in my wheelchair for around 4 hours on one day every week which means I cannot go out to work so I must be a ‘Benefits Scrounger’.

This is me – I am a ‘Benefits Scrounger’.

Leave a Reply

